The Book You Never Read, or, London: Sympathy for a City

A song about anger and alcohol. A film about London.

The song was inspired by The Handsome Family’s ‘So Much Wine’. The visuals are inspired by Walter Ruttmann’s Berlin: Symphony of a Great City (1927.)

As always I’d love to hear what you think. Enjoy!

5 responses to “The Book You Never Read, or, London: Sympathy for a City

  1. Is that you singing and playing guitar?

    I really like this – the music and images go well together.

  2. Hey thanks Aaron,

    I’m really, really chuffed that you like it, thanks!

    Yes it’s me singing and playing – and I wrote the song (‘write the theme tune, sing the theme tune’!) It’s a recording that I made about 7 years ago. I’ve sort of put away my song-writing for that many years and am just starting to think about picking it up again.

    It’s one of a number of songs that I wrote and recorded back then that I want to put up here as soon as I can find appropriate visuals… But I’ll bring you a CD next time we meet up if you like..

  3. I’m impressed, I never knew you were a songster. You should pick it up again.

  4. Hi Ben,
    Wow – very impressed with this. I’d forgotten you said you used to write songs. I thought this was a professional job until I re-read it. Must meet for a film soon – though it’s a bit of a duff month at the nft i think.
    Sam

  5. Cheers Sam!

    Professional, eh? Cool! Definitely up for a movie soon, tho you’re not wrong about the bfi/nft this month.. Will email etc!

    Ben.

Leave a Reply

